Poem: “hope against hope”

hope against hope

hope against hope

moonlight on my mind as I break through the turnstile
these underground boxes can’t keep me inside
I need to be out with the drunks and the beggars
hoping for change, though I know it’s a lie

and I’m caught up in phrasings these days
like how home’s not a place, just something I’m supposed to feel
and I’ve brought myself into a state
where I hope against hope I can find something real

dreams of breaking this plain, glowing, rising completely
burn up in the sky like a paper lantern
there are nights I believe I’m a piece that won’t fight right
laying forgotten ‘gainst my refrigerator door

and I’m recycling all my mistakes
like how love’s not a choice, just the way I’m supposed to feel
and I’ve broken some vows to myself
but I hope against hope I can find something real

you can’t tell me god doesn’t grant serendipity
a sermon through static or a song in your soul
so I hope that he finds me, I pray that he’s listening
because I’m lost and I have so far to go

and I’m open to making a change
find out life is worthwhile, it’s the way I’m supposed to feel
because you work in mysterious ways
and I hope against hope I can find something real.

This entry was posted in Late Night, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poem: “hope against hope”

  1. Pingback: First Impressions: Julien Baker – Sprained Ankle | Context Blues

Leave a Reply

