Song: “Packing Up”

The first song I’m releasing from my next album, If You’d Call This Place Home.

Packing Up

I don’t want you to go.
I’m sorry, but that’s all that I’ve got.
I’ve been trying to write this song for so long,
I guess packing up is harder than I thought.

You took your records and coat,
The only things that keep you warm now.
And I’m staring in the closet
It’s emptier than I remember.

‘Cause all I can think of is you and the way you’d smile sometimes.
You’re as cool as a shower in June and as rare as a comet at night.

So leave me broken, leave me restless, leave me strung out like a ghost.
Leave me humbled, leave me honest, just please don’t leave me alone.
‘Cause I would give it all back if you’d call this place home.

The landlord said to drop the keys off in the morning sometime,
Just before her lunch break’s fine.
So I’ll reach for “Whiskey Whiskey Whiskey”
Whatever gets me through the night

When all I can think of is you and the way you’d smile sometimes.
I’m as worn as an old country tune and as lost as a ship in the night.

So leave me broken, leave me restless, leave me strung out like a ghost.
Leave me humbled, leave me honest, just please don’t leave me alone.
‘Cause I would give it all back if you’d call this place home.

I headed north to Wallkill, drove as far as I could go,
Found a cabin off a carved-out dirt road.
With my car and my guitar sitting beside me on the porch
I try to tell myself I’m not alone. I’m not alone.

So leave me broken, leave me restless, leave me strung out like a ghost.
Leave me humbled, leave me honest, just please don’t leave me alone.
‘Cause I would give it all back if you’d call this place home.

But you won’t.

 

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

